The final

The Teams

Wasps: M Van Gisbergen; P Sackey, F Waters, D Waldouck, J Lewsey; R Flutey, E Reddan; T Payne, R Ibanez, P Vickery, S Shaw, T Palmer, J Haskell, T Rees, L Dallaglio (capt).
Replacements: J Ward, P Barnard, R Birkett, J Worsley, M McMillan, J Staunton, J Hart.

Leicester: G Murphy; T Varndell, D Hipkiss, A Mauger, A Tuilagi; A Goode, H Ellis; B Stankovich, M Davies, J White, M Wentzel, B Kay, M Corry (capt), B Herring, J Crane.
Replacements: B Kayser, M Ayerza, R Blaze, T Croft, C Laussucq, S Vesty, A Erinle.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (Rugby Football Union).

All the facts and figures surrounding the 2008 Guinness Premiership final

• The last team other than Gloucester to have defeated London Wasps in the Guinness Premiership was Harlequins 26-25 at the Stoop on 20 October.

• Wasps are attempting to win a 4th Premiership title after their three successive wins in the 2003, 2004 and 2005 finals.

• The Londoners have won the last nine finals they have contested in all competitions (eight at Twickenham) since losing the 1997/98 Cup final to Saracens.

• Wasps have lost twice at Twickenham in the Premiership: 11-13 to Saracens on 4 September 2004 and 19-29 also to Saracens on 15 September 2007, both in opening weekend double-header matches.

• Defending Guinness Premiership title holders Leicester Tigers’ only defeat in their last four matches was 25-28 at Newcastle Falcons on 4 May.

• The Tigers are playing in a 4th successive Premiership final and are looking for a 6th Premiership title in all.

• Since beating Gloucester 44-16 in last season’s Guinness Premiership final Leicester have lost on their two appearances at Twickenham: 9-25 to Wasps in the European Cup final last May, and 6-23 to Ospreys in the EDF Energy Cup final on 12 April.

• Wasps and Leicester have met on three occasions this season, with the Tigers taking the Guinness Premiership game 20-17 at Adams Park on 30 September and the EDF Energy Cup semi-final 43-24 at Millennium Stadium on 22 March, whilst Wasps exacted some revenge at Welford Road on 29 March with a 24-19 victory.

• The two rivals have met in two previous Twickenham finals with Wasps victorious on both occasions: 39-14 in the Premiership final on 14 May 2005, and 25-9 in the European Cup final on 20 May 2007.